Saving for study in times of meltdown, advice?

L

Layer01

Hi all :)

First post, hope this is the right place for this, total noob when it comes to all this financial stuff but hoping to fix that a bit :p

I currently work in Germany in the games industry.
I've had a plan for a while now (going back to before all this ridiculous mess started) of going back to school to specialize some more.
I should perhaps explain, I'm currently employed as an artist, and I'm looking to invest into my own skill set by going through some intensive academic training. this is one of the places I'm considering florenceacademyofart(dot) com for example. (wont let me post urls yet)

This sort of course not being cheap (approx 10k eur a year atm..though the school charges in USD) I realized I would need some funds to get through this and deciding not to get up to my eyeballs in dept, I started saving. So far I've amassed about 8k euro and hoping to have between 15-20k by the time I start school and support myself with part time work etc for the rest.
Then on to a lifetime of being a starving artist in the post financial apocalypse..or rule the land as a king with my god like ability of capturing images, in the post financial apocalypse where oil paintings are used as currency ;D but i digress..

O_O ~enter the EU economic crisis~ O_O

I start hearing a lot of panicked people talking about currency collapses, protecting savings, fleeing euro's, doom and gloom etc. Its all very confusing.
Recently my father asked me if I'd like to move some of my savings back into AUD (country of birth) as some sort of "protection" against a total Euro collapse.

I know I want to access and use these savings in about a year, and I'm not sure if the exhange rate fluctuations, transfer fees and other bank trickery actually make putting money into/out of AUD all that "safe" in the end.

I mean ironically I could be looking to relocate to Italy in the next 2 years for this study, the heart of the storm lol.