Running a hobby as a profit or loss making business?

Icarus

I have a hobby that is stepping up into being a bit of a mini business. Does anyone have any similar experiences?

My passion is for all things food and I've started a website as a resource and portal for like minded people. I'd like to do it properly and give it what it really needs the problem is that this takes cash. I don't mind spending it but would like to find a way to get the most out of it by possibly getting a vat number etc.

Is there any legal template or structure for "professional hobbies" or business models that don't need to make profit?

As far as I am aware your sole trader losses are not reckonable against your main income for tax.

Hi extopia,

I am not an expert, but I understood that your trading losses can be offset against your income from all other sources in the same year.

So if I am a self-employed shopkeeper and make a loss of €20k I can set it against my paye income of €50k, and so only pay tax on €30k.

However, I think it is a requirement that the trade must be carried out with a view to making a profit. If the Revenue judge that it is only being carried out to fund a hobby, then the losses would not be claimable.

Brendan

Brendan said:
Hi extopia,

I am not an expert, but I understood that your trading losses can be offset against your income from all other sources in the same year.

So if I am a self-employed shopkeeper and make a loss of €20k I can set it against my paye income of €50k, and so only pay tax on €30k.

However, I think it is a requirement that the trade must be carried out with a view to making a profit. If the Revenue judge that it is only being carried out to fund a hobby, then the losses would not be claimable.

Brendan

I'm I right in presuming that this is the case because our shopkeeper makes his €20k loss as a sole trader and not a ltd. company?

If a company makes a loss, it cannot be used outside the company.