Renting to family member, below market rate

sadie

Say one sibling owns and investment property in Ireland, but their permanent residence is Overseas.
They rent the Irish property to another sibling for a sum below the market rate, what are the implications for both in relation to tax or CGT.
The market rate is €1200 a month, but they want to rent it to the other sibling for €600 a month, because they don't want strangers in it and they may come and holiday themselves in the house for several weeks/months per year so don't want to tie themselves to a tenancy agreement.

I am not an tax expert. This is only an opinion from the internet.

This seems like a 600 euro per month / 7200 euro per year gift to the renting sibling and should be liable for gift tax.

I don't see any CGT liability as no capital gain has been realized.

Thanks. You can gift 3k per year to any person without them being liable for tax. You can also give a sibling a maximum of €32,500 in their lifetime without it being taxed (and give them the 3k per year on top of that). I am thinking anything above that threshold is liable for tax? There is also the issue of the accommodation being a benefit in kind but maybe that only applies in an employer/employee situation.

I am not an tax expert. This is only an opinion from the internet.

This seems like a 600 euro per month / 7200 euro per year gift to the renting sibling and should be liable for gift tax.
Wouldn't the market rent need to be discounted for the fact that it isn't a standard tenancy and the owner wants to retain a right to occupy a right to occupy the property as it suits them?

If I own an investment property which has a market rate of €1200/month and let it for €600, and I am prepared to make a loss in payment for the person renting. Surely, its my decision, whether it be sibling or not, and my decision how much I want to receive in payment below the "normal" rate. If I earn more, I pay more tax, If I earn less, I pay less.