rent out or sell up?

HollyHobby

Hello! Total newbie to the site so please bear with me. Thanks. So a few questions really. Here is my situation & I would be grateful for advice.

Partner & I living in a little house with our 2 boys. It's so small so we are looking to upsize. However on a tracker - we pay 900€ pm. Houses of same around us are getting €1500 in rent.

My Q is if we could save €90,000 in 3 years (that's our goal) for a deposit on approx a €430,000 house in the same area, would we be better to rent out our current fishbowl & do it this way instead of selling to move?

Also, if we do it this way & try and hang onto our first house to rent it, what is the story with tax on the rental income? Would we be at a loss with those figures above do you think? (Where do I find out about how much tax one pays on rental income please)

Half of family say sell up & use the savings (currently have saved 30,000 this year - yr1 of 3 yr plan) and the chunk of equity on next house.. the other half say no way, hang onto 1st house & rent it out, that can be a pension for us essentially - as we only have 15 yrs left on it before it is paid off.

Any advice would be great for myself and the partner as we are very new to this property/tax/rent or not to rent lark!

Thanks
Holly

Welcome to Askaboutmoney.

How old are you, how much equity is in the house, and what's your income?

Thanks Gordon, we are 40 & 42. There is approx €130,000 equity. Combined income is €80,000 gross + €50,000 gross = €130,000.

Thanks

You need to give much more information to get any meaningful suggestions

1) Which lender are you with?
2) How much is your current house worth?
3) How much is the mortgage outstanding?
4) What term remains on that mortgage?
5) While your house is small, how long more could you stay in it? One year, two years more?

Brendan

Oh I see, thanks.
Ok so -
a) TSB (tracker)
b) approx 300,000
c) 160,000
d) 15 years
e) could manage another year or two at a push!

Cheers Brendan