Registering business name

P

patk100

Hi All,

My background is that I am employed with a company earning c30k. In addition I have been doing alot of freelance web work and in the coming year estimate that I will earn c10k from this. I have permission from my employer to do freelance contract work.

I really don't think that dealing with the C.R.O is high on my list of needs but I want to use a name that's not my own and need to register for VAT (a requirement of my clients)

My plan is to register as a business name with unlimited liability - as I am not dealing with a physical product - does this make sense if I am willing to take the risk that my business name will not be protected and perhaps if all goes well convert myself to a proper bo company in 12months or so.

Also on the revenue side, as I will still be a sole trader in their opinion how would this affect my tax position and what would be my accounting needs - I am really lost on this question after delving into the CRO and revenue sites.

I do hope someone can give me some tips!

Hi,

If you want to register a business name then go to the CRO website and fill out an RBN1, print off the signature page and enclose a cheque for €20.

You will need to download a TR1 from the revenue website and register for Income Tax and VAT. Effectively you will be a sole trader with unlimited liability as you say. From the Revenue point of view you will need to complete annual Income Tax returns and bi-monthly VAT returns. Also it might be helpful if you engage the services of an accountant to complete your accounts & Income Tax return. You could do the VAT yourself if you only have a few sales invoices and no purchase invoices.

Jockey

Very helpful Jockey- thanks!
Bi-monthly Vat returns caught my attention - what format does this take ?

Hi Patk,

Basically any one year is broken up into 6 periods e.g

1. Jan/Feb 07 - Return due 19th March 07
2. Mar/Apr 07 - Return due 19th May 07