Refund of payment protection

P

Princessa

Hi all,

Newbie here so be gentle!

Three years ago I took out a 5 year motor loan with payment protection. Last year I wanted to take out 3,000 to pay for tuition fees but they explained that I could not simply extend the loan I had I had to take out a loan for the amount of my existing loan plus the 3000 I wanted and pay off the old loan with the new one. (I hope everyone is still with me!)

Anyway on the 2nd loan I decided not the take payment protection. So my question is (finally) would I be entitled to a refund on the payment protection premiums from the first loan which I paid off 2 years early?

Thanks!

You should not have paid payment protection on the first loan after the first loan was cleared . No amount of small print will save the bank from having to refund it to you in full.

contact www.ifsra.ie if they give you any crap

Thanks Tonka!

I looked at that website for ifsra and they have a number for BOI customers looking for payment protection refunds so going to give them a call.

Hi there,
Am one of the 65,000.....

I swapped a BoI loan (10.9%) with an EBS loan (6.0%). So the BoI loan was paid off 3 years early. The PPI premium was approx. €1,800.

I called the BoI hotline on Monday. Spoke to a very nice lady there. It would speed things up a bit if you had:
- your bank loan number,
- your bank account number
- your address at the time of the loan was taken out and finally
- your current address.

I was told that a letter detailing how much I would be owed will be sent out in a few weeks (why does it take so long if I've given all the details??).
Hope this helps.