Reclaim tax during unemployment

pmurphy

Hello all

I have a quick question that I hope someone could answer

I was made redundant on 30th June 2006 having paid 2440 euro tax in total (this appears on my P45)

After 8 weeks I sent in the form and my P45 to reclaim tax during unemployment.

I have since got a new job (Sept 14th)

However, the tax office returned my form and p45 and told me to take up the question of a refund for year 2006 with the new employer. I have reclaimed tax before and always got a cheque. This does not seem right at all? I was expecting about 600+ by way of a rebate, how on earth will my new employer sort this out for me?

Many thanks for your help
P M

I'm not an expert, and the Revenue [broken link removed] doesn't seem to address this, but you'll probably receive a tax credit in lieu of a refund cheque. Ask your new employer, but I'd imagine that at the end of the tax year you'll need to send the details in to revenue again and they'll reduce your tax liability accordingly for the coming tax year. I'm open to correction on this, though!

However, the tax office returned my form and p45 and told me to take up the question of a refund for year 2006 with the new employer. I have reclaimed tax before and always got a cheque. This does not seem right at all? I was expecting about 600+ by way of a rebate, how on earth will my new employer sort this out for me?

Revenue are correct here. If you had left your job without the intention of returning to work for the rest of the tax year you could have reclaimed some tax if you sent them a P50 along with your P45. Apart from this it is only prior tax years that you claim a refund from Revenue. Your new employer after receiving your P45 will make the necessary amendments on his payroll. You'll notice the amendments on your next payslip.