Re: 100% mortgage and bad credit rating.

elayno

Hi guys,

im new to this site but im desperate for advice on obtaining a 100% mortgage. Its just that i am paying back a credit agency that took over a loan that whilst i was a student, i couldnt pay back. It was 5000 euros at the time but ive only 2000 left to pay back. Im currently paying them back every month on time. But i fear this will stand against me applying for a 100% mortgage. Has anyone at all out there any advice for me or could put me in touch with someone. Id really appreciate it.

People with bad credit ratings find it difficult to obtain even a 92% mortgage with the prime lenders. You may be able to arrange a mortgage with a lender like Start or GEM but you will pay higher interest rates and you will need a minimum deposit of 8%.

The option you have is to wait until your ICB report is clear but this takes 5 years...

Go through a broker, not direct to the banks. This is exactly the sort of thing they are good at as they often get to talk with the key decision makers in the bank and you may get a favourable result if they get to explain the circumstances.

I would second what MonkeeMan said. Brokers can often see ways around problems that banks can't. Also you should contact the ICB and get a copy of your credit report.

hi again guys,

Thanks for the feedback, i have been to a broker who advised me to clear my loans, including the one with the outstanding credit agency. I have also a credit card with €1500 on it.. That's not a problem to clear. Although i dont have much savings either. All im looking for really is enough to buy my grandfathers' house for €120,000. Compared to new house prices, this seems far less a price to pay. I earn a lot on my salary so i know i can afford to pay it back. Is there anyone that can offer a name to any good brokers out there?