Purchaser won't sign!!

E

Eric

I have sold my house at Auction with an agreed month to close. Now however I can't get my buyer to commit to completing the purchase within that month (unreturned calls/will be out of country etc) and I need to close a sale on a house I am buying. Anyone know what I should/can do to get my buyer focussed?

If you sold at auction persumably you got a 10% deposit from the successful bidder on the day. My understanding having recently sold a house at auction is that this is forfeited if the bidder doesn't complete as agreed in the contract. A word from your solicitor to theirs reminding them of this and that you will put the house back on the market with their 10% in your bank account should move the purchaser on.

I think that in the current climate, everyone is under a lot of pressure, I think people are setting themselves impossible deadlines, and a lot of trust is gone out of the whole thing. As a practising solicitor, I am regularly finding purchasers who said they were first time buyers( ie. no house to sell) and loan approved ( i.e. ready to go) are lying on all counts to get the house they want. So a vendor who maybe agreed a slightly lower price with a "ready to go purchaser" so that they themsleves could commit to their own new purchase, now find that they are stuck in the next part of the chain. I equally have vendors who agree in theory to a quick sale and then try and drag out the deal so that they can find their next house and try and tie in the two deals without any inconvenience to themselves.