Public or Private pension - stick or twist!

Feria50

I have been offered a public service job where the gross pay is better than my current salary but I am totally confused about the single scheme system that is now in place in the PS, despite having spent the morning reading up on it! I am 32

Current position in private sector:
Gross salary €41k (2% annual growth perhaps)
Employer contributes 12%
Employee contributes 3%
Total = 15% (employer contributions are pretty generous..)

I have been paying into the pension for the past 5 years and returns have always been above 10% p.a. Unlike the public service, my pension can go up and down and could in theory be wiped out one day.

Public service position:
Gross salary €48k with a 10 point scale bringing it to c. €60k p.a. (before any pay deals)

Trying to take a stab at calculating my final pension in the latter position assuming I travel the scale over 10 years bringing me to age 42 with 26 years remaining to age 68.

I dont dislike my current job so the smallest details will affect my decision

You would be entering on the Strand 4 pension with retirement age of 70 and career average earnings. Look at the pension calculator for this on the pensions authority website

Not sure how this helps, unless of course I am missing something... I don't see how the link can be used to estimate final public service pension given that contributions to same are made using a 2 pronged approach from 2013 onward.. % of net pensionable salary etc.

My likely pension in my current role, subject to market conditions obviously, is simple enough to calculate

Not sure how this helps, unless of course I am missing something... I don't see how the link can be used to estimate final public service pension given that contributions to same are made using a 2 pronged approach from 2013 onward.. % of net pensionable salary etc.

My likely pension in my current role, subject to market conditions obviously, is simple enough to calculate