Proprietary Director working as PAYE employee working in multiple other companies

Y

yoga

Hi,

I work as a PAYE employee for a number of companies on an ad-hoc basis (e.g. I might work three days for company 1 and two days for company 2 in one week. And the following week I could work just one day for company 1 and then one day for company 3. etc.).

All my employers pay me as a PAYE employee. I have split my tax credits among my employers, but because I don't work a fixed number of days for each I need to do a tax return at the end of the year to balance every thing up. I made my first such return (for tax year 2010) last week. Because I am registered as a PAYE employee, I submitted a form 12 return.

Each of my employers deducts PRSI according to the work I do for that employer in a given week. The deductions are all made under class A PRSI.

So here is my dilemma:
I am also listed as a proprietary directory of another company (I own 1 of 3 shares in this other company, giving me an equal controlling interest of 33% with two other shareholders). I am not an employee of this company and I do not earn any money from it whatsoever.

I have only just realised that my position as a proprietary director in this company might effect my employments, and more specifically the way I pay PRSI and PAYE. Is this the case?

Here are my specific questions:

• I believe that my PAYE contributions are correct because I am entitled to the PAYE tax credit as my earnings are all incurred in my PAYE employments. My form 12 tax return should balance my PAYE contributions. Is that correct?
  • I am registered as a PAYE employee and submitted my tax returns using Form 12. Was this the correct form to use even though I am a proprietary director of a company I do not work for? I am not self assessed, and thus did not submit a form 11. Or am I actually supposed to be registered as self assessed because I am a proprietary director?