Personal tax advisor / consultant

Sarsie

Can anyone please recommend a personal tax advisor / consultant that won’t cost me an arm and a leg to talk to for an hour? My situation is that I’m a full time employee but have been offered additional work by a college tutoring once a week which I’ll have to cover my own taxes for. In truth I don’t know where to start to put this in order, or have any idea of what expenses are acceptable to claim back against this tax paid. I would like to get everything above board so I figure to pay a professional for their advice may be money well spent in the long-run. I'm in the Dublin 6 area. Thanks in advance!

Can anyone please recommend a personal tax advisor / consultant that won’t cost me an arm and a leg to talk to for an hour?

The people behind moneydoctor.ie offer a free consultation. I have no first hand experience so can't give a personal reference but it can't do any harm to have a free chat with them.

John Lowe - the Money Doctor - works for Providence Finance – a firm of independent, authorised advisers for mortgages, insurances and investments. To learn about their services and to obtain product and planning advice that is tailor-made to your needs contact Providence Finance direct. Click here.
From all the information provided it does seem to be independant and given a fairly good reputation (John Lowe's name will frequently appear on financial matters) I'd assume the advice should be of a fairly high standard.
No specific reference to issues of taxation, but I'd assume it'd be part of the course for people in this sort of position to be able to advise on this sort of thing.

No specific reference to issues of taxation, but I'd assume it'd be part of the course for people in this sort of position to be able to advise on this sort of thing.

I wouldn't assume that to be the case to be honest-the OP is looking for self-assessment type taxation advice, as opposed to tax efficient investments etc.