Pension

C

Cathy

After leaving school in the 60s I worked for 2 years in Ireland then a further 2 years in UK by which time I was married with children then returned to Ireland and raised family, I never worked outside the home since but have been involved in my husbands buisness at all times - never took any wages or paid prsi, I have now been told I should start paying prsi towards my old age pension am I too late at 55 I still do all the paper work involved for my husband, he has always paid self employed prsi for himself,

Hi Cathy,
I am no expert on this but to quote from Social Welfare

"Paid insurance before a certain age
You must have entered social insurance before a certain age. For people currently under 66, they must have started to pay social insurance before the age of 56. The age limit is higher for people born before 1922"

You will be 66 years of age in 2015 so the following rule applies
"If you reach pension age on or after April 6th 2012, you will need to have 520 paid contributions (10 years paid contributions). In this case, not more than 260 of the 520 contributions may be voluntary contributions. However, if you were a voluntary contributor on or before April 6th 1997 and you have an average of 20 contributions per year, you may meet the requirement if you have a total of 520 contributions, but only 156 need to be compulsory paid contributions"

However Cathy you have a further problem since you worked for two years after leaving school so for welfare purposes your working life is from the first day you started work up to the age of 66. In your case that would be in excess of 40 years and in order to qualify for a minimum pension you have to have an average of 20 contributions per year . However if your average is 15-19 contributions you would get 3/4 of min pension or 10-14 contributions you would get 1/2 min pension or 5-9 average contributions you would get 1/4 min pension

Have a look at the link below

re