Pension fund units

dfordog

I have been paying monthly into a pension fund since 2012. The fund has not performed well so i have been buying units at a relatively low price.

In the last two months the fund has finally started making some gains.

I am trying to understand if it has been beneficial to buy units at a low price and maximise the overall number of units.

Does having more units have a multiplying effect on the overall fund value when the fund starts to perform?

Would it be a bad idea to now transfer into a fund that has been performing well and at an all time high in terms of unit price?

Apologies for all the questions but it is difficult to get my head around it.

Buying low is good, buying high is not. Buying lots of cheap units of a decent fund in very good. That's why it was crucial to keep paying into your pension during the 2008-2012 when units of good funds were "on sale".
This is often confusing as you have seen, it is well explained by the following article

Thanks Boyd
The fund i am paying into is GARS. Although i have been paying in since 2012, for some reason my online pension account says that the fund was launched in June 2019. I asked my fund manager what units were in at the start of June vs the end. It was something live 5,000 Vs 60,000. So some kind of correction factor was applied. Why would they do this?

Buying low is good, buying high is not.

Unless it is something that is going to stay low. When Buffett is talking about buying low, he's talking about buying the S&P 500.

GARS isn't a good fund and it's an expensive one at that. I don't have any clients in it as there are lots of other, better funds available on the Standard Life platform.

Steven
www.bluewaterfp.ie

Of course, buying low is a good idea. The problem is knowing when the price is low, and will it go lower or higher than the price you paid.