PCP for new car: what paperwork should I bring along

Thirsty

hope the title is self explanatory.

I'm hoping to do a deal for a new car this week, likely be taking up finance offer. I've never done this before. What paperwork do I need?

When I rang and asked, I was told I didn't need anything, just 'personal details' and the form is submitted to dealer 'head office'. Given the hoops you have to jump through for every other form of finance, this seemed a bit unlikely to me.

I'd prefer to know what's needed and bring it along then have to traipse along another day; can anyone advise?

To agree the deal, you won't need paperwork. They'll just take details like name and address, net salary, employer's name, length of time in that employment. They'll then send that to their finance provider who will do a credit check and usually approve within a day or so.

They may require more when you go to pick up the car at a later date, but not at the start.

They may require more when you go to pick up the car at a later date, but not at the start
Was hoping to drive away on the day! Sigh... there's a lot to be said for buying used car with cash.

Thanks folks

Unless you're going for an ex-demo or a very common model on lower spec, the dealer is unlikely to have what you're after in stock. You might have to wait days, weeks, or even longer depending on model/spec/manufacturer.

Was hoping to drive away on the day! Sigh... there's a lot to be said for buying used car with cash.

Thanks folks
Usually a new car is only ordered when the paperwork is completed so as Leo said it is highly unlikely you would ever be able to drive away on the day. Even with an ex-demo (or if there happens to be a new car on the floor that is not already committed to a buyer) I would imagine the only way you would be able to drive away on the day would be if you're paying cash.

Thirsty ,

Can I suggest slow down ,please.

You want this car and you are primed to be fleeced on finance cost.