Paye

mingle

Hi guys,

I hope you dont mind but im a little unknown to the whole tax thing, if someone would be so kind to explain a few things to me that would be so great.
Thanks so much.

1)
I had been unemployed and claiming unemployment benefit from Jan to the end of July. I started working the first week of August. Because I have been off work for so long does that mean my paye is going to very high for awhile.
Basically I earn 1625 but come out with 1435 due to paye, prsi & a social club of 7 euros. My tax credit a month is 219 approx. Am i overpaying tax at the moment or does that sound about right.

2)
I have been renting for 5 years - all private. Am i due rent relief or is it too late. 4 years in an apartment, almost 1 year in my current house.

3)
I have paid Refuge since last January but only in monthly installments - can i also claim this?

4)
Also registered with revenie.ie a few things i dont understand
This shows my tax credits & incomes - havent a clue what it means.

Date Commencement 08/08/2006 Total Main
Date Cessation
Flat Rate Expenses 23.00 23.00
PAYE Tax Credit 1490.00 1490.00
Personal Tax Credit 1630.00 1630.00
DSFA Unemployment Benefit (900.16) (900.16)
Net Credits 2242.84 2242.84
Net Rate Band (SRCOP) 27614.20 27614.20

PAYE is calculated on a cumuilative basis. Your tax is calc on your wages from jan to date and substracted from the previous year to date to give the current wages.
Your salary for Aug ytd 1625
Tax at 20% 325
Tax credit 187*8 1495
No tax due

Your salary for Sept ytd 3250
Tax at 20% 650
Tax credit 187*9 1682
No tax due

Based on the figures you should not pay any tax this year. From Jan you will have to pay some tax but it will depend on the budget.

PRSI due on 1625 pm is approx 43 euro

So your monthly take home pay currently should be 1582
If its different or you don't understand let me know and I'll try to explain

2)