PAYE or Ltd

heather

Hi folks

I've been unemployed for 6months and am in the lucky position of having 2 potential job offers in the pipeline.

Offer 1 - 6 month contract under PAYE, salaried @85k per annum.

Offer 2 - 6 month contract establishing a limited company and paid a day rate of circa €420 per day.

Role 1 is more likely to be made a full time permenant role, while role 2 would likely be extended for up to 6 months.

Both roles would involve travel from my home to Dublin, circa 100km each way per day. Given the place of work is based in Dublin, I don't believe I'll be in a position to claim mileage as a limited Co.

In the short term, can anyone advise how much better off I'd be going with the Ltd Co option (say over the term of the initial 6 month contract? I've never used a limited company before and am not 100% sure how it all works.

Thanks a million

It's a while since I did this calculation, but it's something like the following:

Under option 1, you will earn €42,500 gross in 6 months.
You will be paid for 26 weeks x 5 days = 130 days
You will get 10 days holidays and about 5 bank holidays, so you will actually work 115 days.

Under Option 2 you will work 115 days @€420 so you will earn a gross salary of €48,300

You may get maternity benefit, sick pay etc under option 1, but not under option 2. However, you are more likely to get paid overtime under option 2.

Your income tax will be the same under both options. You may be able to claim some expenses as a company but you should not rely on it.

I think that you will pay the same Employees PRSI under both options. You will pay the same USC.

If you set up a company and you are a director, you will not pay Employers PRSI. If you operate through an Umbrella Company you may have to pay Employers PRSI out of the gross pay i.e.
Gross pay before Employers PRSI: €43,600
Employers [email protected]%:€4,700
Total fees: €48,300

Social welfare issues: