BOI

Interest rate3.2
variable

Buy to let properties
Value:40000
Rental income per year:14400
no debt

Other information which might be relevant

I have an investment property that produces post 1200 per month- this is being sold in the next year as the other co owners wish to sell. I will get my share but will no longer have the additional income. We have a lot of overheads and generally save very little. The intention was to put some of the money from the sale against the mortgage to batter it down when the time comes

My concern is mortgage is variable and I've already been hit with one interest rate hike this year and without the additional rental income from the investment it will be a bit tighter around the house. Im also conscious that energy bills will be without credits soon so household expenses will rise considerably. I am a sole trader.

The intention is to move house in a few years and have proof of savings etc ,currently we save little and without the mortgage that could change things considerably.

However we have been fortunate and will benefit from a lump sum that could clear the mortgage. Would it be wise to use this to pay down the mortgage on the PPR now or invest in another investment property to replace the one sold?

Last edited:
You have not said what will be your share of the sale after taxes. That would help somewhat.

On your ppr, what is the bank and what interest rate are you on? Can you fix for a few years so you have some certainty?
You say that you get very little income from the rental so cashflow is your issue in your home.

Sit down with all your house hold bills and see where the money is going. Set a budget and keep to it. Track your spending and see what you can get rid off or reduce. Over time you can adjust your budget. If you have other person loans or credit cards try a 'snow balling' tool and see what you can clear sooner rather than later. Keep your sole trader money seperate from your home expenses.