part-time or not?

suemoo

hi all,

Im currently studying part-time for a degree and am also working fulltime in a job which is high pressure role but I love my job and the money is fantastic.However Im really finding it hard to do both, i suppose i just didnt fully understand how much the degree would impact my freetime.

iv been considering asking my boss if I can work a 40 hour week over 4 days so that will free up an extra day mid week for study - generally i find myself too tired with commuting etc to get too much work done in the evening time so i spend most weekends studying. Or perhaps would parttime work be the way to go?

How would you view if an employee came and asked you either of these requests?

thanks

Im sure if the degree is work related then your employer would make some arrangement. Doing a part time degree shows ambition etc so it should go down well with the employer. He may reach a comprise such as being available for phone calls during the day off.
You should show how your job wont be adversly affected by working 4 days.

fair play to you , you obviously know what you want, but dont over do it ten hours a day is extremely tiring and all you'l want to do on your day off is chill out so your killing yourself for nothing. eventually you will get so tired you wont be able to concentrate on either work or your course, so i'd think it through if i were you, if its really what you want then im sure your boss could organise it , it shows commitment on your side. good luck

We were asked the same by am employee a few years ago, and I know the company were very concerned about someone putting themselves under that much pressure and thought that a year of doing 10 hour days, plus study would result in burnout. My employer is pretty good about facilitating people who are studying, but the 40 hour week in 4 days did not work out.