Ownership of car after breakup

Status
Not open for further replies.

fangs

Just looking for an opinion here on best way to go about this. Facts below

1. I sourced and bought the car and have receipts proving this etc. - worth 14-16k
2. Car is registered in ex-partners name. Not registered in my name as I drive a company vehicle and my no claims bonus is tied up with company. She has main insurance on car and I'm a named driver. (reason why car is registered in her name)
3. She is in possession of car.
3. We have split up recently and she is intimating that she won't give the car back (she considers it a gift)
4. I have told her I expect car back etc. but willing to give her a loan to buy a cheaper car she can afford.
5. We don't have any written agreements as to what would happen in event of splitting up
6. Understanding between us was that car was for dual purpose, she uses it for commuting to work and we both used it then for evenings and weekends

What's the legal position with regard to ownership (registered owner or person who paid for it?) and what is best way of getting possession of car if reasoning doesn't work?
Appreciate your help folks

Can you prove it’s yours? As in payments on a loan? ootherwise I’m afraid she can prove it’s hers and you can forget about it / put it down to experience.

Whose receipt is the name in?

Did you pay the garage by transfer from your account?

How long ago since car was bought?

Who paid has paid for repairs?

1. I sourced and bought the car and have receipts proving this etc. - worth 14-16k
Proof of beneficial ownership of the vehicle right there, no ifs, ands or buts. Name on registration document proves nothing in terms of ownership and insurance details don't either. The log-book/registration document states specifically that possession of it is not proof of ownership of the vehicle.