Nurse - Contributing to AVC with option to buy back years

Dogwalker

Hi,

First time poster, I hope someone can advise me please.

I am a nurse with 23 years service, I'm 48 years old and would like to retire if at all possible at 60.

With that in mind, I have been contributing to an AVC and have approximately €13,000 in my AVC currently and have just recommenced contributions having paused them for a number of years.

So I understood I had a shortfall of 5 years roughly.

My local HR have advised me that I can have my training years (3.6 years) counted as service. To do this I will have to purchase them for €5300.

I have a number of options re purchase:

Use some of my AVC fund to cover the €5300 thereby reducing the AVC fund to less than €8000.

Leave the AVC fund as it is and pay the €5300 myself and claim the tax relief on it.

Any thoughts on what is the best value option for me? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

It depends how much money you have generally.

If you’re swimming in cash outside of your AVC fund, there might be an argument for using that.

But if you’re tight for cash, use the AVC money.

Either way, you should do it; it’s a “no brainer”.

You can't withdraw funds from the AVC pre retirement, so how can funds in the AVC be used now to buyback years of service?

You can't withdraw funds from the AVC pre retirement, so how can funds in the AVC be used now to buyback years of service?

They’re not “withdrawn”. They’re tax-relieved pension monies which can be used to fund other tax-relievable pension benefits. I’ve seen it done on multiple occasions.

Really?

So if I have 10k in an Irish Life AVC, at age 40, I can direct IL to sell those shares/funds, and they will issue me with the funds, that I then use to pay the HSE to buyback years?

Last edited:
Really?

So if I have 10k in an Irish Life AVC, at age 40, I can direct IL to sell those shares/funds, and they will issue me with the funds, that I then use to pay the HSE to buyback years?