Notional Service

CluelessDublin

Hello

I hope someone can advise me. I am a 45 year old teacher. I would like to retire at 60 i.e. when I have completed 33 years. I have a quote form DES for seven years notional service €200 per fortnight for the next 14 years. My question is ..is It worth it or would I be better off considering an AVC . I very confused by the tax relief of 25% - what precisely does this mean.

Cheers

Clueless

I can't answer the first part of your query but because you are in the age bracket 40-49 you are get tax relief on your pension contributions, up to a limit of 25% of your earnings ie any contributions above this limit will not attract tax relief

Assuming that the extra € 200 per fortnight does not bring your total contributions above the limit, then you will contribute € 200 to your pension every fortnight and this will only cost you a deduction of € 160 (if your marginal tax rate is 20%) or € 120 (if your marginal rate is 40%) from your pay

I am a 45 year old teacher. I would like to retire at 60 i.e. when I have completed 33 years. I have a quote form DES for seven years notional service €200 per fortnight for the next 14 years. My question is ..is It worth it or would I be better off considering an AVC .

The Pensions Authority have a booklet on AVCs and Notional Years. It might be a good starting place as an overview:

[broken link removed]

Also, you might find playing with the Dept Of Ed. Pension modeller helpful. Based on your current salary and retiring at 60, get a calculation for a pension with 33 years service. Then do a calculation based on 40 years service (as a teacher do you need 40 years service for a full pension?). This should give an indication of how much (in today's terms) the buy-back will gain for you:

Last edited:
I tried calculating this for my wife last year and became bamboozled.