New product - how to approach manufacturers?

Lobby

Hi,

I've d eve loped a new product, related to iPad and similar products, with the aid of a government research grant.

The next step is to take the cad drawings and go ahead and manufacture the product.

2 options, go to Chinese companies and have it done directly, but as I've no experience of this I'm somewhat reluctant to go this route.

Second option is to approach a manufacturer already in this area and try to work with them to bring the product to Market. However, on legal advice the product cannot be patented, so what's to stop a manufacturer having a look at my design and then saying thank you and going off and developing it themselves. Or, from their point of view, say they have also been working on something similar, then me turning up with my design would cause them problems as I could claim they stole my idea. So both of us need protection.

Anyone any suggestions on how to approach this?

Speaking as a manufacturer, We're mostly concerned with producing products for someone else to worry about the marketing etc, I'm more concerned with making your parts and making my sale into your inventory than sweating over the smaller incremental sales. Get a lawyer and develop a non-disclosure agreement before approaching manufacturers.

The Chinese will sure as heck copy your product. And the agent you work with will sub contract it to death to make as much money as possible. You'll also receive a container of product that will most likely have quality issues that you'll need a local company to fix.

I don't get how the government hands out a development grant for something that is already in the market, and can then be farmed out to the Chinese.

Irish manufacturing needs work. Adding value to raw materials is the healthiest thing for the Irish economy, good luck with your project.