New build in Wexford - est of costs???

• Thread starter selfbuildwx
  • Start date
S

selfbuildwx

Hi all, I am new to this.
I am hoping to start building early next year hoping planning etc goes according to plan.
Will be looking at building a traditional farmhouse style build 2 storey with single storey extension, approx 2300 sq feet.
However I haven't a clue of the likely costs of this.
I realise that it cannot be exactly answered without plans and more detailed information, but I have no idea of a guide to go on.
Would be very grateful if there is anyone out there who could give me some guidelines so I can figure whether my house is far too unrealistic to meet budget.
Thanks.

Hi selfbuildwx,

I have recently built a 3300sq ft dormer, timber frame house. I haven't the total breakdown as of yet, but to give you a general idea here it goes. I have managed to get within my 200k budget with some furnishings.

Solictors - 2900
Co. Council - 2000
ESB Network - 1644
Windows - 10000
Treatment plant - 3540
Well Drilling & Pumps - 2600
Kitchen - 7000
Builder total - 140000
Plumbing - 15000
Architect Tech - 2000 (BER Cert incl)
Spent extras on Insulation etc.

Its a basic breakdown, haven't the full breakdown here with me, have it at home on my laptop. But the house is insulation far better than todays regs, plumbing includes oil burner, back boiler stove, emersion, Solar panels, all rads, and bathroom suites. Also spent extra on putting footpaths around the house, and hiring JCB for a week or so on the external ground work. Thankfully I was given a site, so was able to get 100% mortgage. Started work in April, moved in last week, before the snow arrived. Obviously as i've mentioned its a basic breakdown.

Thanks a million for the reply Wexford7.

You have given me somewhat of a guideline to go by.

We have also been given the site, as well as having plumber/electrician and machinery etc to hand so hopefully that will give us a bit of room to keep costs down somewhat.