need advice about my debt..

D

doodoo

Hey, heard about these forums and thought I'd post about my situation to try to get some advice from people who may be or have been in a similar situation..

Ok, well I'm a student and about 2years ago I stupidly bought a laptop (2grand) from pcworld to help me with my studies. I foolishly got roped into taking out their "interest free for 3months" plan and didn't pay a penny up front..

I accepted the contract which I've since lost and havn't paid a penny to said company. As i've been changing accommodation due to semesterisation in uni i havn't recieved any letters or phone calls asking for the money.

I realise the extent of what I have done and sometimes I can't sleep at night thinking about it. I'm ashamed that I've let it come this far. What I have done is not far removed from stealing.

I've been putting this issue to the back of my mind for 2years now, but as I'll soon be getting a full time job for a years placement, I'd like to put this issue to rest and try to repay as much of it as possible..

I've also got a few other loans that i've delayed repayments on which need dealing with asap.. (credit card maxed to 1000 for past year)

but I've a few questions before i make the phone calls :

around how much would i owe the debt collectors if i contact them?

are there any financial institutions that could give me advice or could help me with the repayments?

i don't plan on buying a house for at least another 5 years, but how will this effect my credit rating?

I'd imagine the interest is continually growing. Would any financial instituation give me a loan with a reasonable interest rate so i could pay off the lump sum and then pay the instituation back instead?

Anyway, thanks for listening and if anybody has any advice whatsoever, i'd be happy to hear..