Nearly 60 and big tax bills on ARF withdrawals coming up

Sharpie

I am a self employed sole trader and approaching 60 in July. .

My spouse,55, has done unpaid paperwork , adminstration and phone calling for me in the background for the last six years without payment.

My query is I have a very decent private ARF from a directorship I previously held which I am obliged to draw from from my 60th birthday otherwise I pay full tax on notional drawings.

If I draw this and add to my wages , I will pay tax based on single person tax credits

Say €40k salary plus €42k mandatory withdrawal = €82k per anum.

My question is : as a sole trader , going forward , could I pay my spouse or go in to partnership with her to allocate some tax credits and allowances and thresholds to her to reduce our tax liability going forward.?

How do you think Revenue would view this and what kind of tax savings are possible?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Last edited:
This happens a lot.

Yes you can employ your spouse in the business and establish an executive pension for them.

The good news is that you can provide a pension of 2/3s of final salary after 10 years service which is fully tax deductible as a business expense so there is a lot of scope here for planning.

Marc Westlake
Chartered Certified and European Financial Planner
www.globalwealth.ie

Last edited:
Thanks Marc. What kind of PAYE, PRSI and USC should we expect to pay if my wife takes €17k in income and I take say , €23k and I also take the €42k contribution from the ARF ?

If you have the ARF income coming up you may wish to change that split of earnings to give more income to your wife if you can support that planning option.

Also you can still contribute to a personal pension/PRSA tax relieved at the normal levels and she can have an executive pension. If you had more years we’d have given consideration to setting up a limited company.