Case study My UK state pension (Class 3) & Winter Fuel claim experience

Gervan

UK pension rules are complicated, and everyone's circumstances are slightly different. Even at Class 3, voluntary contributions are an extremely good "investment".
I'm giving the figures in sterling, as exchange rates have varied over the years.

The pension system in UK is now so complicated I'm sure even the people who work there don't understand it, and it is always worth applying.

My working experience:
I was a student in UK from 1971 till 1974, then worked until 1978, when I left to work in Africa.
I returned to England in 1980 to get married after a whirlwind long-distance romance. I had a child, and lived there till September 1981, when I went back to Africa.
I didn't work in 1980/81, and could have claimed credits for family responsibilities, except there was a strike on, so I never actually got any child benefit payments.

Class 3 or Class 2:
This meant when I inquired about voluntary pension top ups in 2009, having moved to Ireland in 1999, and been in employment here ever since, I was assessed as not entitled to pay Class 2 contributions.
That's because I had not been working in UK up to the date of my second departure, and there was no record of me being paid any child benefit.
I never queried the decision.

In 2009, I was allowed to pay back up to six years previous, so made Class 3 contributions at the rate of about £700 a year from 2003/4 onward, 13 years until my retirement date in 2016. Some years were £12.05 per week, some only £7 to £8 a week. Later years were around £14 per week.
The total I paid for 13 years Class 3 was £7846.

I started receiving UK pension in November 2016, at a rate of £88.94 per week. There has been a small increase each year, to £121 per week currently.
In the first year and a half I received £7050.