My Rights when land registered to someone else and I have been cutting the bog for 30 years?

Meathlass

I have been cutting a bog for over 30 years that my mother said was mine. I never got deeds. Now someone has said that it’s there’s (no relation) and it’s registered to her. It is registered to her on the land register. Where do I stand in relation to this?

You might get some general principles on Askaboutmoney, but for something as serious as this, you will need to consult a solicitor who will be able to review all the paperwork and who can advise properly.

Brendan

This is an interesting one. I & my parents both own houses that have banks of turf "attached" to them. We used to cut turf, but not any more. I checked the bank of turf on the Land Direct, has a different folio number than our houses. Grandparents have been cutting turf there since 1930's. be interested to know who owns the bank of turf & is it possible to get into your own name. PS @Meathlass , our turf bank is also in county Meath

This is an interesting one. I & my parents both own houses that have banks of turf "attached" to them. We used to cut turf, but not any more. I checked the bank of turf on the Land Direct, has a different folio number than our houses. Grandparents have been cutting turf there since 1930's. be interested to know who owns the bank of turf & is it possible to get into your own name. PS @Meathlass , our turf bank is also in county Meath
But you may find if you look at Part 3 of the Folio in PRAI that there is a burden registered which gives you the rights to cut turf. Likewise if your own property is registered you may find the Turbary rights are registered on Part 1 of the folio underneath the section that shows your lands / property.

@Curly Wurly , am looking at the folio number on landdirect.ie I can see title, plan number etc..where can I see Part 3 of the folio, is it available online? am viewing as a guest online.
Thanks