My Debt Story

baz6679

Have been a long-time reader of posts and finally decided it's about time I share my experiences. So here goes:
I worked in the construction industry up until 2008 and was left high and dry like so many people in this country by being owed a large amount of money for work I had completed. I was getting married in August of 2008 and ended up rupturing my Cruciate Ligament playing Soccer 3 weeks before wedding!!! This coupled with not being able to get the money I was owed meant I quickly found myself sinking deeper and deeper in debt.
The problem culminated in January 2009 when it ended up I have between 30-40 grand of debt with one of the major banks across credit card, overdraft, personal loan and the balance of a hire purchase Van which I returned. I was beside myself with worry and stress and after much searching and looking for help found a debt management company who have handled all for me. I now pay 300 a month back and have been doing since November 2009.
However it is a struggle. We as a family have also decide to emigrate to Australia and will have our permanent residency visa inside the next month. I am selling my house and am hoping to have a few thousand maybe 4 grand left so we can go and start all over again. Here is the thing though.
I am seriously considering running and leaving this debt. I know howls of horror and the moral issues and how the Irish taxpayer will be footing this but seriously until your in the situation you shouldn't judge people like me who see it as the only option. I spoke with my advisor in the debt agency who is an absolute star. I am going to sit down with the bank and tell them to settle for 40-50 cent in the euro and give me the next 15 years to pay this back which I know I can do by working my backside off as I have good contacts where I am going with good work prospects.
If they don't like this then its bye bye bank and do whatever the hell you like because I ain't coming back in that case!