Mortgage interest relief question

bond-007

My wife took out a remortgage on the house in December. The mortgage and house are in her name only. Is she entitled to TRS at the married rates or as a single person?

Im guessing just as a single person but im no expert.. Is there another section on TRS?
I have a query on rent a room. Is this tax counted over the year from jan to dec? Because i just rented out the second room in my house last month. If both rooms stay rented till dec i will have received e7200 in rent from them. I know this is under the tax threshhold so im unsure what to do about it. Do i tell the tell the tax office? They haven't asked me about it even though i did say on the mortgage application i would rent part of the house out. Does it affect trs if i do declare it?

OP - if only your wife is on the mortgage, I can't see how she could claim TRS for both of you. As always, contact the TRS people in Revenue for the definitive view, but that's my opinion.

"Married" TRS doesn't exist per se: where two (or indeed more) people hold a mortgage on a property, and assuming all are owner occupiers and contributing equally, then the allowable TRS is the total of each individual's allowance, that is relief on up to €8,000 mortgage / borrowing interest at the standard rate of tax per person, or the total mortgage / borrowing interest, whichever is the lesser.

Kyla: Yes, it's January to December. You'll have to declare the income [form 11, I think], but providing you don't exceed the threshold - €7,620 income - you'll have no liability in respect of it. Do be cautious though: income of €7,621 and you'll be liable for income tax at your marginal rate of tax on all of it, which would be a very expensive proposition. If you're running close to the maximum late in the year, you can avoid incurring the tax liability - not to mention making a nice gesture! - by giving a reduced Christmas rent, or something similar.

It won't affect the TRS.

Last edited:
BOND-007