Money Advise Please


Registered User
Age: 27
Spouse’s/Partner's age: none

Annual gross income from employment or profession: 45k
Annual gross income spouse: 0k

Type of employment: Software - Permanent Role

Expenditure pattern: Saving more than I spend

Rough estimate of value of home €380k (half share with sister & house rented)
Mortgage on home €265k. 27 years remaining.
Mortgage provider: PTSB
Type of mortgage: Fixed 3.99% (up this April)

Other borrowings – none

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month? Yes
If not, what is the balance on your credit card? 0k

Savings and investments:

Do you have a pension scheme? No but plan to start in March this year

Do you own any investment or other property? No

Savings: €35k Rabo, €4.5k CU, €3k AIB

Also add €500 a month to Rabo & €1000 to AIB.

Life insurance: Yes, for mortgage

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?

What way should I approach my pension? Should I max it out at 15%.

I intend to buy my sister out or she will buy me out so we can both have our own places. What stamp duty am I liable to pay if I buy her out? 3.5%?

What way do you reckon we should go on the mortgage with the fixed rate up in April?

Reduce the capital amount to get a 60% LTV rate?

Any recommendations greatly appreciated


Registered User
Savings: €35k Rabo, €4.5k CU, €3k AIB
You are probably not getting the best rate/return possible on these savings. See the Financial Best Buys forum for a list of the best lump sum demand and term deposit accounts/rates.