Max AVCs from Redundancy payment

K

Kandy

I’am about to be made redundant on the 31/01/07 (this is actually quite opportune for me as I have secured alternative employment already, so it’s not as a bad a start to the new year as it may appear). My redundancy payment will consist of 30K statutory + 110K ex. gratia payment from the company . I wish to maximise the amount that I can put into my AVC plan from the ex. gratia element of the payment. I have been paying AVCs at 10% of salary since 2004. I also have been contributing 5.5% of salary to the defined benefit company scheme for the past 20 years . The max contribution currently allowed by revenue for my age bracket is 25%.
My questions are :

1. How far back can I backdate AVC contributions for revenue purposes, to utilise the max 25% of salary contribution ?

2. Is it possible for the company to pay the 110K (non statutory) element directly into my AVC fund in this situation ?

3. Are ther other options I should consider ?

Many thanks & a Happy New Year,

Kandy

Well spotted - I had clean forgotten that things had changed.

For (what I think is) the current position.....I can't post a link so do the following:

• Go to revenue.ie.
  • Enter keyword search "backdate AVC contribution".
  • You'll get one result - a statement of current practice.
  • Go to the end of page 242 and following.

Hi,

Many thanks for the detailed replies.