Manual Software Testing vs IT Support - Which one is easier and less stressful?

TestLink

I would like to know which one is easier and less stressful to work - Manual Software Testing or IT Support. Also which one is more paid and have career growth prospects?

Any help greatly appreciated.

I work in the IT industry but have not worked in either role.

I don't see a long term career in Manual Software Testing. The drive in most IT companies is as much as possible, to replace manual testing with automated tests.
It is very expensive for companies if they have to manually test all their software functions every time they make a change.
The growth area is in Automated Test Engineers, who are capable of writing code or scripts, to automate the tests so that they can be executed cheaply, repeatedly and quickly. Employers will likely look for candidates with computer science degrees for such Test Engineer roles.

In relation to ease\stress, I think the workplace\employer will be a more important factor in determining this than the role.

If I was starting out between the two, I would definitely pick IT Support.
Automated Test Engineer would likely have better pay and career prospects than either of the two roles you mention.

Agree 100% with Odyssey06, stress levels are 100% a function of the company, group, manager and peers, and those levels can vary greatly from one group to another in the same company.

In terms of career growth, do you know where you would like to progress to?

I am bit old school in taking initiative and learning new technologies, software etc that comes and goes fast in the market. This is in regard to new server class operating systems, configuring switches and routers etc.

I think in this regard manual software testing scores as there is no need for the above, but just learn business process and check and see whether it works. In case there is some thing that doesnt work, just flag it to the software engineers who would rectify the issue.