Looking for information please on change to part-time working in civil service.

galwaymum

Hi everyone,

I am new to this so apologies if i am posting in the wrong section. I am looking for advice please.

I am curently on maternity leave and am due to return to work very soon. I am working in the civil service as a full time clerical officer. I have a 4 month old baby girl and would love to stay at home full time to look after her but cannot afford to do so.

I would love to return to work part time. Does anyone know how much my salary would change if i were to go back to work part time?. My weekly salary is 500 euro a week.

Has anyone else done this and if so how much did effect did it have on wages?

Thanks for help

Galwaymum.

Galwaymum - congratulations on your baby girl. It's impossible to tell you what effect reducing your hours will have on your wages unless you say how much you are reducing them by as part- time work can mean anything. Where I work part-time hours are any hours less than full time and they vary from the minimum 8.25 hrs/wk up to 36 hrs /wk.
Start off by figuring out what your hourly rate of pay is (divide your basic gross salary by the number of hrs/wk you work) then to calculate your new basic gross just mutiply this hrly rate by the number of hrs you wish to work per week. Then you will have to take account of how deductions will effect this (PAYE, PRSI, superannuation etc), it you talk to your salaries department they might be able to help you with this info.
Best of Luck and enjoy your little girl.

Last edited:
You can go on work sharing. You have a number of options under this scheme - e.g. 3 day week, 4 day week, one week on-one week off. You should get in touch with your personnel section who will advise you how to proceed.

As a very rough guide for you, I began flexible working (worksharing) a few years ago, and changed from a 5 day to a 4 day week.

My salary reduced by 20% gross, which after tax, etc was about 16% net.