Long term strategy childrens inheritance

David_Dublin

Hi - I have kids that just received a 20k inheritance each. I've a meeting with a financial adviser set up next week, but was wondering if people could maybe provide suggestions, and pros and cons, for what I might consider to do with their money. I'd prefer not to go into the meeting completely without ideas. I have full authority to do with the money whatever I see fit, per the terms of the will.

I'd welcome any advice/input.

Thanks

Thanks for the reply.

I will fund their education. They are 8 and 11. So it really is for me to look after for them until they are 18.

Sounds like the money is needed in the short term. Stick it on deposit in a bank so.

Sounds like the money is needed in the short term. Stick it on deposit in a bank so.

Ouch!

I'm no expert but I'll give a go. I would ask the financial advisor his qualifications, and is he an agent or an independent advisor.

Your kids will not require all the 20,000 on one date, so which dates - and for what exactly? Why was '18' chosen?

How much risk can you, as guardian of their money to which they are entitled to at least 100% plus probably a nominal interest amount, bear?

Have you any funds to invest yourself to scale up on opportunities - larger returns for larger amounts invested etc

Thousands more questions to ask ... and better-informed posters to follow me .. .. ..

Thanks for the reply.

I will fund their education. They are 8 and 11. So it really is for me to look after for them until they are 18.

Sorry, ignore my previous suggestion. I misread your response.

so which dates - and for what exactly? Why was '18' chosen?

These are the questions you should be asking. When will the money be needed and for what purpose.

If it was me the primary concern would be to minimize fund fees that will eat into any gains (assuming you go the fund route).

You asked for suggestions, here is one.