Lender seeking valuation on property mortgage that’s in arrears

Lainey_W75

Hi,
I’m looking for some info please.
Background: apt purchased 2009, lived in until 2014 and then rented. Aug 2020 tenants vacated, apt riddled with mould and long story short structural defects resulted in water ingress seeping in since construction. Entire development subject to defects etc and work ongoing.
As a result of loss of rental income mortgage has gone unpaid since Sept 2020 as property can’t be rented out in the condition it’s in. Work still not completed to exterior of my unit. I’ve engaged with lender throughout, last SFS sent in about 3 weeks ago. Received call today asking if I’d give approval to get it valued at no cost to me. Caller at pains to say I’m under no pressure, can refuse etc but at no point can explain why they’re seeking a valuation. I was told a valuation is part of the SFS process and I pointed out I’ve been engaging in the SFS process since Aug 2020 and this is the first I’ve been asked about valuations. Still no proper explanation forthcoming so can anyone throw any light on why I’m being asked? What are the implications of a valuation if I give permission or don’t?
Many thanks

As a result of loss of rental income mortgage has gone unpaid since Sept 2020 as property can’t be rented out

I’ve engaged with lender throughout,

If you are not paying your rent, you are not engaging.

It's tough that you are in this position, but you should be paying the rent from your income - whether than income comes from rent or from your employment.

Brendan