Leaving Work and Returning to College

C

cailinog

Hi,

this is my first time posting. I plan on finishing work and returning to college. In order to get my tax back what do i need to file? Also would there be an optimun time to finish work and claim back tax?

I currently earn €43,000 p.a. so i don't know if this affects the tax bands.

thanks for any help you can give me.

thanks Clubman. I plan on finishing work at the end of May. by then i would have paid 3245 PAYE and 975 PRSI based on what i paid last month.

Would i be able to get the majority of the PAYE back? If i get 3120 tax credits for the year will i have exceeded them by €125 for any refund?

You may not get it all back immediately and it may take a several incremental P50 claims to get it back. That's how it worked for me when I was unemployed. Basically I think they refund an initial amount and then tell you to contact them again on a certain date if you are still not working at which point the refund another chunk and so on. I presume that if you have paid €3,245 in tax and your credits are €3,120 then you will indeed get back €3,120 eventually. PRSI is not refunable unfortunately.

sorry to hijack the thread but do you know what difference to the tax refund would there be if poster had a wife/husband?
My hubbie is seriously thinking of going back to college for a year in 2008. I would hope to get as much as he could have from tax man and then transfer over his credits to me as I would be the only employed person in the house. and also getting tax relief on his course fees. apart from that is there any other relief we could claim?