Leaving Ireland to avoid Debt

Tomo1998

Hi,

I’m in my 20s and due to a few poor decisions and a hell of a lot of bad luck I owe 12 grand to Revolut and 5 grand to AIB. I’ve never missed a payment and I refinanced an amount of the AIB loan, from AIB to revolut, about 6 months ago. I’ve never missed a payment ever and my original loan with AIB was for student loans and is about 2 years old now.

To make a long story short my degree is practically useless, I’ve been unemployed now for almost 3 months, I’ve applied for over 250 jobs and heard back from barely any. I’m extremely frustrated with the position I’m in and have frequently thought about leaving the country and not continuing to pay the loan. I’m barely surviving after cutting out basically all of my social activities. I believe a new start would be perfect for myself and my mental state.

Essentially I’m inquiring as to the repercussions of such a decision. One of the countries I’m considering relocating to is in the EU, while the other is not. Would I be chased for these loans? If so, at what point would I not be? I’ve contacted MABS previously back when it was an AIB loan and I was looking for a DRN but was told I do not apply. Out of ideas on what to do here.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

I would suggest that you have come to the wrong place to seek advice on how to purposefully renege on debt that you willingly took on. It's the rest of us that pay for it.

I assume it’s due to the time of year and winding down of HR in December. A lot of them have been roles applicable to my degree, I’ve been told numerous times that I don’t have enough experience but I can’t get experience if no one will give me a job. I’ve also applied for entry level roles to be told that I am overqualified. I assure you that I would not say it if it wasn’t true, regardless of whether you find it hard to believe or not.