Laser Card Fraud - We've just been scammed

maryt

We took an order over the phone for an engine (we're in the car business).

The 'customer!' paid with a laser card. The payment went through and we got the courier to deliver it. The 'customer' rang to say it was the wrong one, so we said no problem - we'll deliver up the correct one, just send the other back with the courier. When we got the first engine back (all very well packaged!!) opened it to find an old tv inside.

Got a call from the Gardai a few hours later to say the laser card that had been used was stolen and we have to refund the money back. We're now down to the tune of E1300. Can anyone tell us 1) as a business is there any protection for us taking laser/credit card payments over the phone 2) is there any way that we can precheck before we send an item that the card belongs to that person/isn't stolen?

WOW... thats a "nice one" MaryT... what a dirty trick ... I am no expert here but..

- where did the courier deliver the engine too ?
- were was the laser card stolen from?
- what did the gardai say when you explained your situation regarding the engine ?
- what car was the engine for ?

not sure if you can pre-check a laser card, not unless when you get the number is it possible to call the bank and provide them with the number and see if it was reported stolen.

The other thing is when was the card reported stolen, was the bank slow to react in cancelling the card ? they might be liable...

Interesting. AFAIK, unlike a credit card a Laser Card is the equivalent of cash and I know it is considered dangerous to have/use as you are not protected by any of the rules governing Credit Cards. Look at it this way, if someone stole 1,300 cash and bought an engine from you would the guards be able to request you refund the cash, especially if you did not get the engine back. I doubt it.