large loan for paying off debts

• Thread starter 1stepatatime
  • Start date

1stepatatime

hi, this is my first time using this site so please excuse me if i get some things wrong..

i owe out a lot of money, and i need a outsiders view if im going about this the right way.

in total i owe 42000 in loans credit cards and overdrafts.....i had a gambling problem but i have taken steps and can say that i havent gambled in nearly 2 months.

my employeer is very understanding and i went to him to seek advise on how to get out of debt (he is an accountant,so i thought he would be the best person to turn to) he advised me to go to my bank and ask about debt consolidation...i went and applied for a loan (still waiting to hear from them)

will the bank give me an unsecured loan for 42000?

I earn 2500 per month

Loan (BOI) 22000 (4 years left)
Loan (BOI) 8000 (4 Years Left)
Credit card (MBNA) 4000
Credit card (BOI) 2800
overdraft 3500

My outgoings are:

Rent 200 pm

thats it!...any advice would be welcomed. thanks again

1stepatatime said:
will the bank give me an unsecured loan for 42000?

I earn 2500 per month

Highly unlikely. Looking at your outgoings you are spending at less 1700 a month on repayments. They won't lend you such a huge amount in those circumstances. I'm afraid MABS are your only option here.

Main concern should be your overdraft, as the penalties are quite severe for being so much in the red.

Contact www.mabs.ie and see if they can be of assistance.

You will more than likely have to do some negotiating with your creditors.

Also, have a look at some of the previous threads on dealing with debt (search/browse)-they may be of interest.

I think you are kidding yourself when you say that your only outgoing is rent-what about eating, utilities etc?

Sorry to hear of your tough situation and congrats on facing up to your problems. I'm not clear on the purpose of consolidation - how is this going to help you?