Key Post: Importing a car from the UK

F

Fiona Freeman

Hi there,

I'm thinking of buying a car in the UK and I'm looking for information on what taxes/other costs I'll have to pay. I haven't decided whether or not to buy a new or a second car so if you could give me details for both that would be great.

I am a permanent resident in Ireland.

Thanks

Re: Importing a car from the UK

Hi Fiona,

Apart from the €/STG£ exchange rate, your main cost will be Vehicle Registration Tax (VRT). There's a good section on importing cars on the Revenue website [broken link removed].

Of course, if you buy a Classic Car (over 30 years old), the VRT is something like €50 or less, your annual road tax is also under €50 irrespective of engine size, and you may well be able to get lower insurance premiums.

Liam D Ferguson
www.ferga.com

Used Car Import from UK

Hi Fiona,
For peace of mind you could use the services of HPI - the UK's leading vehicle info. authority. For a fee the company will check used cars for VIN match, Condition, any outstanding finance, if it was stolen etc.
www.hpi.co.uk
I used when importing an old audi and found it an added independent sense of security.

import car

What is the position re VRT if you import say an engine, 2 weeks later you import a car chassis and register this ?

Irrelevant comment

This reminds me of a song by the great Johnny Cash about a man who worked all his life in a car factory and every day brought home one component of a car until eventually he had built an entire one. :D

Duty / Tax clear up

Could somebody clear this duty thing up once and for all since there has been a lot of talk in the papers about car price competitiveness between european countries. If i buy a car in Germany and pay the german duty and tax there. do I have to pay any duty or tax here?? is the VRT the ONLY cost??