Key Post: Best Internet Service Providers for home use.

M

Marion

This was originally posted by Anonymous

Can anyone recommend the most efficient / cost effective ISP available for a regular user for personal use.

Also what package is better: Outlook Express or Eudora?

Thanks

Might also be worth asking what service is cheapest ...

I think I saw an add for Ireland online (?) offering access at 1cent per mintute - anyone confirm this / comments pls ?

Internet

Hi, I would definitely recommend UTV Internet
[www.utvinternet.com]
Look up their website to either order a CD, sign online, or check their ISP address to set up manually (my preferred option as it does not interfere with other ISP providers you might use)
Support is at normal rates - not the 50p (oops!) per minute some other IPS charge.

Can I also recommend the use of Opera
[www.opera.com]
as a browser alternative to IE. I have been using Opera for about 6 years, paid my $30 for version 4, got a free upgrade for version 5, and a discounted price of $15 for version 6. Money well spent. It's small, it's fast, the cache is brilliant and it's very flexible and easy to customise for your own preferences - download and install Java, it's a once off process, which does not need to be repeated for further upgrades.
I thought everybody knew about Opera but looking throught he Fool's message board, I realised this is not the case!
Regards
Bubbles

Re: Best Internet Service Providers for home use.

I use either UTV or IOL from home. I generally prefer UTV, but I did find some quirks on their service. I found it difficult to login for periods of a few days over the past few weeks. Also, I couldn't seem to get through to some specific sites (e.g. www.buyandsell.net/classifieds/), though it is actually working fine this morning, as it happens.

I've only recently installed the IOL option, to get around the problems with UTV listed above. I'll see the price difference on my next phone bill.