Just about to buy a new Home for €600k. Can we afford it?

Monte2014

Spouse’s/Partner's age: 43

Annual gross income from employment or profession: €84k. I work as a Chartered Surveyor.
Annual gross income of spouse: €47k. Spouse works as a Risk Management Consultant.

Monthly take-home pay: €8k

Type of employment: Both in private sector

In general are you:
(a) spending more than you earn, or
(b) saving? We are saving approx €3k/mth.

Rough estimate of value of home: €600k
Amount outstanding on your mortgage: €400k or €2k/mth.
What interest rate are you paying? 2.95%variable.

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc: None.

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month? Yes.
If not, what is the balance on your credit card?

Savings and investments: €220k on deposit, €26k in Rabo, €55k NTMA, €112k in equities. Own a site with planning permission in Munster and 6 acres of land which had planning permission for 12 houses on the edge of a rural village but has since expired.

Do you have a pension scheme? Yes, we both have.

Do you own any investment or other property? No

Ages of children: 10, 8, 6

Life insurance: Yes.

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?

We have just received the contracts on a new 4 bed semi D house in Dublin 16 but we have yet to sign. Our initial plan was to build a house in Munster once we returned from overseas but since we returned to Ireland we feel Dublin meets our combined needs. My question is can we afford a house at this price or should we aim for something lower in price or look for a cheaper 2nd hand house which we can renovate?

Hi,

Just to be clear, what would your savings / investments be after you purchase? I'm assuming a large portion is going towards the house?

We plan to put €200k our our savings into the house so after we purchase the house we will have €100k in savings. We will also have €112k in equities but our plan is not to sell these.