IT Contractor - LTD Company - Do I need Accountant

Mahons

Hi Folks,

I've been an IT contractor for 2 years now working as a LTD company and I'm wondering if I need an accountant anymore. I don't see the value in paying him over 1k to do very little in my eyes.

I use Payback software to work out my Salary/PRSI/PAYE calculations each month, I process my P30 each month via ROS and I've recently filed my own P35 using Payback figures.

I also process my own VAT returns via ROS bi-monthly. Really, my accountant only gives me a P&L at the end of each year - which always works out the same as a report I can generate from QuickBooks where I keep my accounts details.

I guess my question is Do I have a legal requirement to get an Accountant to sign off on my books? I know I have to send my accounts to the CRO a B1 form I think which I haven't done before but really how hard can it be - I only have 12 invoices and minimal expenses!

Regards,

Mahons

Hi Folks,

I've been an IT contractor for 2 years now working as a LTD company and I'm wondering if I need an accountant anymore. I don't see the value in paying him over 1k to do very little in my eyes.

I use Payback software to work out my Salary/PRSI/PAYE calculations each month, I process my P30 each month via ROS and I've recently filed my own P35 using Payback figures.

I also process my own VAT returns via ROS bi-monthly. Really, my accountant only gives me a P&L at the end of each year - which always works out the same as a report I can generate from QuickBooks where I keep my accounts details.

I guess my question is Do I have a legal requirement to get an Accountant to sign off on my books? I know I have to send my accounts to the CRO a B1 form I think which I haven't done before but really how hard can it be - I only have 12 invoices and minimal expenses!

Regards,

Mahons