Is PRSA AVC a better option than purchasing Notional service in this instance?

willbee

Hello all again, This area has generated alot of interest again lately and I've been looking it up alot on AAM, where all threads and posts are very informative. Well done to all.
But I have n't seen a similar situation to mine on AAM yet. So here goes.
I started teaching when I was 22.I'm now 35. I intend to have the option to retire at 55yrs of age. ( 33yrs teaching + 2yrs for 4yr degree course). So to increase my pension benefit I have been paying into a Marsh AVC for the last 10 yrs, (€9k of a fund there now)which I am about to change to a Low cost Eagle Star PRSA. Is this wise?
I was also on to my employer (VEC) to purchase 2.6 years if I wanted to retire at 60, on full pension, they quoted me €61,166 for 2.6 yrs. (1.17% of Salary 'til I reach 60)Some of which I can claim back on tax I'm sure. Is NSP that expensive??
What are peoples views on this, should I forget about the NSP, or just increase contribution to a PRSA AVC? All replies appreciated.

Hello all again, This area has generated alot of interest again lately and I've been looking it up alot on AAM, where all threads and posts are very informative. Well done to all.
But I have n't seen a similar situation to mine on AAM yet. So here goes.
I started teaching when I was 22.I'm now 35. I intend to have the option to retire at 55yrs of age. ( 33yrs teaching + 2yrs for 4yr degree course). So to increase my pension benefit I have been paying into a Marsh AVC for the last 10 yrs, (€9k of a fund there now)which I am about to change to a Low cost Eagle Star PRSA. Is this wise?
I was also on to my employer (VEC) to purchase 2.6 years if I wanted to retire at 60, on full pension, they quoted me €61,166 for 2.6 yrs. (1.17% of Salary 'til I reach 60)Some of which I can claim back on tax I'm sure. Is NSP that expensive??