Irish & UK State Pensions

GreatDane

Hi

I know someone who is in receipt of both a UK & Irish state pension (happened to qualify in her own right here in Ireland & through her husband, when he passed away, in the UK)

Anyone able to advice on what the cut off for receipt of funds is here, before tax will become payable - if this is legit etc ?

All help much appreciated

Thanks

G>
http://www.rpoints.com/newbie

I am not an expert in this field,but have gained considerable experience as I am in a similar position.Providing sufficient contributions have been paid in each juristriction it is possible to receive a pension from each state and each state provides for that persons dependents(spouse).You can also buy back up to 6 years at a cost of about £372 per year which will enhance your pension,and you can continue paying U.K.contributions until 65 male and 60 female.I would advise anybody who has contributed in any state to write to Newcastle-upon-Tyne and Sligo requesting a pension forcast.Your local citizens information office are very helpful on these matters and well worth a visit.Whatever you do don't put it on the long finger,your dependents might need it more than you.As to taxation,anybody over the age of 65 needs to be getting over 33000 euro before paying any tax.I hope this helps to get you make a move especially if you have a little woman.
Richard.