Investment Property - getting started

Solutions

I'm new to the whole investment property area and have a number of question that I would appreciated help with:

1. How do I set up my potential tennents on direct debits?
2. What is the best way to check out their references?
3. What is the best way to find good, reliable tennants?
4. is there a good source of a tennants agreement anywhere on the WEB?

Many thanks,

J.

Solutions said:
1. How do I set up my potential tenants on direct debits?
I think it's Standing Order you mean - they have to set this up with their bank, you give them your bank details.
Solutions said:
2. What is the best way to check out their references?
References can be easily falisified - I don't value them particularly.
Solutions said:
3. What is the best way to find good, reliable tenants?
Daft.ie or an ad in your local paper. If you present your property in a clean and orderly state, you can make it clear to them at the outset that you expect them to look after it.
Solutions said:
4. is there a good source of a tenancy agreement anywhere on the WEB?
There's one [broken link removed].

Make sure you familiarise yourself (and register) with the PRTB and the 2004 Residential Tenancies Act.

I would think about using an Estate Agent who will take care of all that for you. You may pay a fee but often it's better to stand back and hand the reins over. Sometimes landlords get too envloved and it can annoy tenants. If it's a well finished property, some estate agents have corporate client's on their books, it's great as the tenant's company pays the rent and usually on time. because their company is involved the tenants are more likely to look after the place. This is the route I went, you can haggle the estate agent's fee down too.