Investment Advice

A

Anglican

Hi there.

I was hoping for some advice please. I was made redundant a few months back and have possibly been a bit fussy about jobs and even turned one down. I had been studying for the last 2 years and have one more very strenuous year to do. For this reason I was looking for a 3-day week job. After qualifying, I hoped to continue with a 3-day week and maybe work in my new career for 2 days a week. My old job paid quite well but I loathed it. I think one of the reasons I have been unsuccessful in my job hunt is that I'm trying to do anything but go back to my old career even though it paid relatively well!!

I am lucky in that I have no debts. On the downside, I have no pension worth speaking about. My mortgage (on modest apartment) is paid off. I could survive without a job for a few more months. I put away my redundancy money (about €25,000) and would love to invest this in a small existing business, perhaps a shop. I would love to work in the shop say 3 days a week. This will give me time to study until I qualify next year. However, my new qualification will not earn me much money. (I am doing this qualification because I love it). This is why I want another income. I figure that three days in the shop plus whatever I make being a part owner, plus what I make in my new career might be enough for the moment. I have not ruled out working in my old profession for 2 or 3 days a week either.

I approached one shop I'd have loved to be involved in a few months back and offered them 3 days a week and some cash but was turned down. (I learned subsequently he didn't own the shop!!). I have since identified another shop I'd love to work in/part-own owned by a mother and daughter and am composing a letter to them.