Interest Only period due to expire - what now?

FTB1975

Hi all,

I have been availing of IO for the last 6 months, due to expire the end of this month. I was speaking to my lender last week and they asked me to submit a new Financial Statement which I did, I then received a letter in the post today explaining my IO period was due to expire etc etc.

I contacted my lender to inquire if our post had crossed paths as I won't be in a position to resume payment of the full amount...it was confirmed that the letter was a standard requirement and that my FS will be assessed within the next couple of weeks.

I am awaiting my MIS claim to be granted, it'll amount to €30 p/m so won't make any dent in my IO payment of €620 however I am also renting my spare room but this rental income combined with MIS will still leave a shortfall of approx. €150. For the past 2 months I have paid €300 each month towards my IO payment, up until last month I was managing the full €620. I was then asked to put in writing my proposal to them as to how I intend to proceed?!

I wouldn't like to admit what was actually on the tip of my tongue in response to this question;) ....in one way I should probably be thankful that they are not pushing me into a decision I may not be able to maintain however I am concerned about the decision being left totally to me due the implications of any decision made. I was hoping my lender would advise me with the various options open to me rather than give me a blank page so to speak!