INSURANCE LOADING ON 15 YEAR OLD CARS

cautious

My 2003 VW Passat (1896cc diesel engine) will be 15 years old on 1/1/2018, the same date that my 2018 insurance commences.

I am told that:
1. I may expect a significant age loading when the car reaches 15 years of age.
2. Other insurers may refuse to quote me due to the age of the car.

Can anybody advise whether this is true and direct me to a source of reliable information. I am a 67 year old driver with over 30 years accident free no claims driving.

Any advice on the following would also be welcome.

I am in a quandary about whether to change the car for a newer similar model say 2013 to 2015 make.
I love the car I drive. My attitude to most things is "If it's not broke, don't fix it."

Pros for changing:
However I am already paying €675 tax p.a. as against € 200 for a newer model.
I feel my insurance company is already putting some kind of age loading on the car as all of my friends of similar age and accident free history are getting cheaper insurance for higher value cars. The 15 years insurance loading could tip the the scales.

Cons against changing:
My car suffers almost nil depreciation at present.
A new car of €15,000 value will depreciate by almost €1000 p.a.
My current car is very reliable, has had new timing belt, etc fitted.
I am a bit wary of all the electronic gimmicks that can and do go wrong in new cars.

Unfortunately, I need a diesel car for towing a caravan.

Last edited:
Unfortunately yes and it drives me crazy that this is allowed.

I drive an older classic car and it passes the NCT every year and no expense spared on maintaining it.
No accidents, no points etc. because I drive defensively to protect my baby!

Don't get me started on the tax, I try not to think about it when some brand new expensive car pulls up beside me.